Joe Douglass and Spirit of Praise Invite You On A JOURNEY TO GLORY

Written by on May 24, 2020

Joe Douglass – Journey To Glory

Joe Douglass & SOP have returned in 2020 with an all-new live album JOURNEY TO GLORY.

Oakland, CA —  Joe Douglass has always had the gift of captivating the hearts of people. In 2009 he began as a music promoter bringing multi-cultural and multi-denominational concerts, seminars, and conferences to the bay area.  His vision was to always think outside the box and to reach beyond walls of the church. Joe continued working with some of the biggest names in Gospel music and further answered the calling to launch his own ministry – Spirit of Praise.  In 2011 Joe Douglass & Spirit of Praise (SOP) became a full-on ministry movement through music and culture igniting a reviving trend of young people being led to Christ.  

In 2014 Douglass & SOP recorded their first album, THE GREAT I AM, which peaked at #4 on the Billboard Gospel Chart and remained in the Top 25 for 9 weeks.   Douglass & SOP have returned in 2020 with an all-new live album JOURNEY TO GLORY.

JOURNEY TO GLORY is produced by Michael Bereal (Earnest Pugh, Dave Hollister, Marvin Sapp, Mary Mary, Norman Hutchins) and features songs written by Douglass, Todd Galbreth, Deon Kipping, and the late Edwin Hawkins.  Featured guests on the album include Lisa Page Brooks, Y’Anna Crawley, and KJ Scriven.  

Douglass & SOP remake the classic hit “Praise Him” which was written by Edwin Hawkins over 50 years ago.  “Praise Him” features Shelene Huey-Booker on lead vocals and is the first single from JOURNEY TO GLORY.

“My desire for this album is to connect with other songwriters and pull from their journeys to create a collective Kingdom sound,” Douglass shares.  “The legacy of the lead single ‘Praise Him’, from the Hawkins family, lives again 50 years later through a new generation which is Spirit of Praise.”  

Douglass continues,  

“To have Edwin Hawkins witness, hear, and support the revamp of ‘Praise Him’ before he passed away only confirmed my desire to push forward and release this new music to the world.  This album honors Gospel music history and also ignites a new sound of music from the northern California region.”

JOURNEY TO GLORY is available now on all digital music outlets and is released by Dream Label Group, Dream Gospel, Capitol Christian Music Group and The Platform Agency.

Hour of Change
Right Here (Feat. Ashlee Young)
Shine Your Light (Feat. KJ Scriven)
Love Endures
The Great Exchange (Feat. Lena Byrd-Miles)
Flood My Soul (Feat. Y’Anna Crawley)
All By The Grace of God (Feat. Lisa Page Brooks)
How Great & Awesome
Praise Him (Feat. Shelene Huey-Booker)
Father You
Make It
Conqueror (Feat. Victor Brice & Dayanna Redic)

Current track



Accessibility Tools